Bundesverfassungsgericht

You are here:

Disputes Between the Federation and the Laender

This type of proceedings gives the Federation and the Laender the opportunity to defend the competences they have under the federal system of government. The proceedings are regulated in Art. 93 (1) no. 3 of the Basic Law and in §§ 68 et seq. of the Federal Constitutional Court Act; file references for proceedings of this type begin with “BvG”. While this type of proceedings rarely occurs because most disputes concerning rights and obligations in the federal system are dealt with by way of abstract judicial review proceedings, they often are of fundamental importance.

Examples

Previous important decisions in dispute proceedings between the Federation and the Laender concerned the obligation of the Laender to intervene in favour of the Federation in the area of supervisory control over local authorities/municipal supervision, the legislative competence of the Laender for radio and television broadcasting, the unconstitutionality of direct financial aid to municipalities by the Federation, the extent of the Federation’s right to issue instructions to the Laender in cases in which they are acting as agents of the Federal Government, the rights of the Laender in matters of the European Communities and claims for compensation by the Federation if a Land violates Community law.

Requirements

Disputes between the Federation and the Laender are similar to Organstreit proceedings as they are also contentious proceedings with an applicant and a respondent. These particular proceedings oppose the Federal Government and the respective Land government. Other Laender may join the proceedings on the side of the Land that is party.

Only their relations under constitutional law are reviewed in disputes between the Federation and the Laender. These proceedings are often about differences of opinion concerning legislative competences. As an alternative to this type of proceedings or in addition to it, the Federation and the Laender may institute proceedings for the abstract judicial review of statutes, if they wish for the Federal Constitutional Court to not only review whether the legislature has exceeded its competences but also whether a statute is valid. Public-law disputes which do not concern constitutional law are primarily decided by the regular courts.

In disputes between the Federation and the Laender, the applicant must assert that a right to which the applicant is entitled under the federal system has been directly violated or threatened by the respondent. It is not sufficient to make a general claim that the respondent has infringed constitutional law.

In cases in which the Laender execute federal law in their own right (Art. 84 of the Basic Law) the Bundesrat shall be the first to decide differences of opinion. Only the decision of the Bundesrat may be challenged before the Federal Constitutional Court (Art. 84 (4) of the Basic Law). In other cases, there are no such preliminary proceedings.

The application must be filed within six months after the applicant has gained knowledge of the contested act or omission. A decision of the Bundesrat pursuant to Art. 84 (4) of the Basic Law must be challenged within one month.

Decision

The Federal Constitutional Court establishes a violation of the Basic Law without obliging the respondent to perform a specific act. However, the constitutional organs are obliged to consider the Federal Constitutional Court’s declaratory decision and to implement it if necessary (cf. Art. 20 (3) of the Basic Law).

Exceptional Case: Disputes Between Laender

The Federal Constitutional Court’s jurisdiction may also be invoked in case of constitutional-law disputes between the Laender. The course of such a dispute is largely analogous to that of a dispute between the Federation and the Laender. In these cases, however, the Federal Constitutional Court’s competence to decide goes beyond its competence in disputes between the Federation and the Laender: In proceedings between Laender, which have a “BvH” file reference, the Court may oblige the respondent to perform or omit an act.

Bundesverfassungsgericht

Sie sind hier:

Bund-Länder-Streit

Das Bund-Länder-Streitverfahren gibt dem Bund und den Ländern die Möglichkeit, ihre Kompetenzen im bundesstaatlichen Gefüge zu verteidigen. Das Verfahren ist in Art. 93 Abs. 1 Nr. 3 GG sowie §§ 68 ff. Bundesverfassungsgerichtsgesetz geregelt und am Aktenzeichen „BvG“ zu erkennen. Die Zahl der Bund-Länder-Streitigkeiten ist zwar gering, weil föderative Meinungsverschiedenheiten eher im Normenkontrollverfahren ausgetragen werden. Dennoch handelt es sich häufig um Verfahren von grundlegender Bedeutung.

Beispiele

Wichtige Entscheidungen im Bund-Länder-Streit betrafen die Pflicht der Länder zum Einschreiten zugunsten des Bundes im Bereich der Kommunalaufsicht, die Gesetzgebungskompetenz der Länder für den Rundfunk, die Verfassungswidrigkeit der Gewährung von Finanzhilfen des Bundes direkt an eine Gemeinde, den Umfang des Weisungsrechts des Bundes gegenüber den Ländern bei der Bundesauftragsverwaltung, die Rechte der Länder in Angelegenheiten der Europäischen Gemeinschaften und den Regress des Bundes bei gemeinschaftsrechtswidrigem Handeln eines Landes.

Voraussetzungen

Der Bund-Länder-Streit ähnelt dem Organstreit. Er ist ebenso ein kontradiktorisches Verfahren zwischen Antragsteller und Antragsgegner. Es stehen sich jeweils die Bundesregierung und die jeweilige Landesregierung gegenüber. Andere Länder können dem Verfahren auf der Seite des beteiligten Landes beitreten.

Im Bund-Länder-Streit werden nur die verfassungsrechtlichen Beziehungen zwischen Bund und Ländern geprüft. Oft geht es dabei um Meinungsverschiedenheiten über die jeweiligen Gesetzgebungskompetenzen. Alternativ oder zusätzlich können Bund und Länder ein abstraktes Normenkontrollverfahren in Gang setzen, um nicht nur eine Kompetenzüberschreitung des Gesetzgebers, sondern auch die Gültigkeit einer Norm klären zu lassen. Über öffentlich-rechtliche Streitigkeiten, die keinen Verfassungsbezug aufweisen, entscheiden vorrangig die Fachgerichte.

Der Antragsteller muss im Bund-Länder-Streit geltend machen, dass ein ihm zustehendes föderales Recht durch den Antragsgegner unmittelbar verletzt oder gefährdet worden ist. Es genügt nicht, allgemein zu behaupten, der Antragsgegner verstoße gegen Verfassungsrecht.

Wenn die Länder Bundesgesetze als eigene Angelegenheit ausführen (Art. 84 GG) ist bei Meinungsverschiedenheiten zunächst der Bundesrat anzurufen. Erst gegen den Beschluss des Bundesrates kann das Bundesverfassungsgericht angerufen werden (Art. 84 Abs. 4 GG). In anderen Fällen gibt es ein solches Vorverfahren nicht.

Der Antrag muss innerhalb von sechs Monaten gestellt werden, nachdem dem Antragsteller die gerügte Maßnahme oder Unterlassung des Antragsgegners bekannt geworden ist. Gegen einen Beschluss des Bundesrates gemäß Art. 84 Abs. 4 GG ist eine Antragstellung nur binnen Monatsfrist möglich.

Entscheidung

Das Bundesverfassungsgericht stellt den Verstoß gegen das Grundgesetz fest, ohne den Antragsgegner zu einer bestimmten Handlung zu verpflichten. Die Verfassungsorgane sind jedoch gehalten, die Feststellungsentscheidung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts zu beachten und gegebenenfalls umzusetzen (vgl. Art. 20 Abs. 3 GG).

Sonderfall: Zwischenländerstreit

Auch bei verfassungsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten zwischen den Ländern kann das Bundesverfassungsgericht angerufen werden. Dieser sogenannte Zwischenländerstreit ist weitgehend dem Bund-Länder-Streit nachgebildet. Die Entscheidungsbefugnis des Bundesverfassungsgerichts geht jedoch über diejenige im Bund-Länder-Streitverfahren hinaus: Der Antragsgegner kann in den unter dem Aktenzeichen „BvH“ geführten Verfahren sogar verpflichtet werden, eine Maßnahme zu unterlassen oder durchzuführen oder eine Leistung zu erbringen.