Bundesverfassungsgericht

You are here:

Constitutional Complaint

A constitutional complaint makes it possible for individuals – and sometimes other actors – to assert their freedoms that are guaranteed under the Constitution vis-à-vis the state. However, the constitutional complaint is not part of the avenue of appeal from regular courts; it is an extraordinary remedy in the course of which the Court only examines whether specific constitutional law was violated. Further details are provided in Art. 93 (1) no. 4a and 4b of the Basic Law and §§ 90 et seq. of the Federal Constitutional Court Act.

We have compiled important information on the constitutional complaint, particularly on the essential requirements that need to be met when lodging a constitutional complaint, in a leaflet.

Constitutional complaints are recognisable by their “BvR” file references. Constitutional complaints are by far the most common type of proceedings at the Federal Constitutional Court. At the beginning of the Court’s work, in 1951, less than 500 constitutional complaints per year were brought before it. Until 1980, this number increased to 3,107, reaching its all-time peak in 2013 with 6,477 proceedings.

Constitutional Complaint Lodged by an Individual

A constitutional complaint may be lodged by any natural or legal person stating that their fundamental rights (cf. Art. 1 to Art. 19 of the Basic Law) or certain rights that are equivalent to fundamental rights (Art. 20  (4), Art. 33, Art. 38, Art. 101, Art. 103, Art. 104 of the Basic Law) have been violated by German public authority.

Example

The district authorities revoke a taxi company owner’s concession. After unsuccessful objection proceedings, the owner first brings an action before the administrative courts and subsequently lodges a constitutional complaint. The Federal Constitutional Court essentially reviews whether the relevant provisions in the Carriage of Passengers Act and the way they were applied are compatible with the company owner’s freedom of occupation (Art. 12 (1) of the Basic Law).

Requirements

Sovereign acts of all three German state powers, i.e. judiciary, executive branch and legislature (for the exceptional case of a constitutional complaints against statutes click here) may be challenged with constitutional complaint. The decisive questions are whether the laws the sovereign acts challenged were based on were constitutional, and whether the complainant’s fundamental rights were respected in the application of these laws. Therefore, if a constitutional complaint challenges errors in the application of a law that do not have a specific connection to fundamental rights, the constitutional complaint will not be successful.

The complainant must be affected individually, presently and directly with regard to his or her fundamental rights.

It is not mandatory for the complainant to be represented by a lawyer. The complainant may, however, be represented by an lawyer; if an oral hearing takes place, the complainant must be represented by an lawyer.

Strict requirements exist regarding the substantiation of a constitutional complaint. It must be submitted in writing. It may be submitted by telefax, but not by email.

Constitutional complaints against court and administrative decisions must be lodged within one month of the decision in order to be admissible. Within this period, the complainant must also provide the complete reasoning, including all documents required.

Generally, the constitutional complaint is only admissible if all legal remedies before the regular courts have been exhausted. Apart from that, all other available possibilities to correct or prevent the challenged violation of the Constitution must have been used (so-called subsidiarity of the constitutional complaint). It follows from these principles that generally all remedies available before the regular courts (e.g. appeals on points of fact and law, appeals on points of law, immediate complaints, complaints on points of law, complaints against denial of leave to appeal) must have been unsuccessfully used before the constitutional complaint is lodged. If a violation of the right to a hearing in court (Art. 103 sec. 1 of the Basic Law) is challenged, complaint to this effect must have been unsuccessfully lodged before the competent regular court.

The proceedings are free of charge. Financial aid for lawyer’s fees is only possible if a complainant cannot adequately assert his or her rights on his or her own, if he or she will be unable to meet the cost of the proceedings if a lawyer is hired, and if the constitutional complaint has prospects of success.

Proceedings and Decision

A constitutional complaint is subject to admission for decision. However, this does not mean that admission is at the discretion of the Court. The constitutional complaint shall be admitted for decision by the Federal Constitutional Court if it has general constitutional significance, or if this appears necessary in order to enforce the complainant’s own rights under the Constitution. Thus, each denial of admission is prededed by a thorough legal analysis.

The Federal Constitutional Court may find an act of public authority to be unconstitutional, reverse an unconstitutional court decision and remand the matter to a competent court, as well as void a law. It is for the regular courts to render such subsequent decisions as may be necessary. The Federal Constitutional Court, for instance, does not award damages and does not order measures of criminal prosecution.

Exceptional Case: Constitutional Complaints Against Statutes

In exceptional cases, a constitutional complaint lodged against a statute may challenge laws, regulations or by laws. As a general rule, however, statutes – by their very nature – need to be executed through decisions made by public authorities or courts; individuals affected by such decisions must first challenge them before the competent courts exhausting all remedies possible. Generally, in such cases, a constitutional complaint is admissible only after the decision of the last-instance court.

The statute must affect the complainant personally, presently and directly. As a general rule, the complainant is affected personally and presently if there is some probability that the statute affects the complainant’s fundamental rights. The complainant’s rights are directly affected if the challenged statute does not require an act of execution.

In exceptional cases, the constitutional complaint may be directed against a statute which has not yet been executed, e.g. if legal recourse is not possible or if it would be unreasonable to expect the complainant to take recourse to the courts. This is often the case in criminal law or in the law relating to regulatory offences, as no one can be expected to first commit a criminal or regulatory offence in order to afterwards be able to assert the unconstitutionality of the statute before a regular court.

Exceptional Case: Constitutional Complaints Lodged by Municipalities

The Federal Constitutional Court also decides on constitutional complaints lodged by municipalities and municipal associations claiming their right of self-government was violated by a law.

Constitutional complaints lodged by municipalities are a particular case as municipalities and associations of municipalities themselves hold public authority. They are therefore as a matter of principle bound by the fundamental rights, but are not themselves entitled to them. However, they possess the right to self-government (Art. 28 (2) of the Basic Law) rendering their position towards the state similar to that of a person who is entitled to fundamental rights. The constitutional complaint lodged by municipalities accommodates this need for legal protection.

Example: Autonomous municipalities oppose an ordinance by the Land which makes them members of administrative communities against their will.

However, certain particularities apply to constitutional complaints lodged by municipalities (cf. § 91 of the Federal Constitutional Court Act): municipalities and associations of municipalities cannot claim a violation of fundamental rights or of rights that are equivalent to fundamental rights but only a violation of their right to self-government (Art. 28 (2) of the Basic Law) by a statute. Municipalities may not lodge a constitutional complaint with the Federal Constitutional Court if a similar complaint may be lodged with the Constitutional Court of the respective Land. Thus, when it comes to protecting the guarantee of local self-government, the Federal Constitutional Court merely has a “back-up competence”.

Bundesverfassungsgericht

Sie sind hier:

Verfassungsbeschwerde

Die Verfassungsbeschwerde ermöglicht insbesondere den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, ihre grundrechtlich garantierten Freiheiten gegenüber dem Staat durchzusetzen. Es handelt sich jedoch nicht um eine Erweiterung des fachgerichtlichen Instanzenzuges, sondern um einen außerordentlichen Rechtsbehelf, in dem nur die Verletzung spezifischen Verfassungsrechts geprüft wird. Einzelheiten sind in Art. 93 Abs. 1 Nr. 4a und 4b GG und §§ 90 ff. Bundesverfassungsgerichtsgesetz geregelt.

Wichtige Informationen über die Verfassungsbeschwerde, insbesondere was bei ihrer Erhebung unbedingt zu beachten ist, haben wir in einem Merkblatt zusammengefasst.

Verfassungsbeschwerden sind am Aktenzeichen „BvR“ zu erkennen. Es handelt sich bei Weitem um die häufigste Verfahrensart beim Bundesverfassungsgericht. Zu Beginn seiner Tätigkeit im Jahr 1951 waren es noch weniger als 500 Beschwerden im Jahr. Bis 1980 steigerte sich diese Zahl auf 3.107 Verfahren, um im Jahr 2013 mit 6.477 Verfahren ihren bisherigen Höchststand zu erreichen.

Individualverfassungsbeschwerde

Die Verfassungsbeschwerde kann von jeder natürlichen oder juristischen Person mit der Behauptung erhoben werden, durch die deutsche öffentliche Gewalt in ihren Grundrechten (vgl. Art. 1 bis Art. 19 GG) oder bestimmten grundrechtsgleichen Rechten (Art. 20 Abs. 4, Art. 33, Art. 38, Art. 101, Art. 103, Art. 104 GG) verletzt zu sein.

Beispiel

Dem Betreiber eines Taxiunternehmens wird von der Kreisverwaltung seine Konzession entzogen. Nach erfolglosem Widerspruchsverfahren klagt er zunächst vor den Verwaltungsgerichten und erhebt schließlich Verfassungsbeschwerde. Das Bundesverfassungsgericht prüft den Fall im Wesentlichen darauf, ob die maßgeblichen Rechtsvorschriften im Personenbeförderungsgesetz und ihre Anwendung mit der Berufsfreiheit des Taxiunternehmers (Art. 12 Abs. 1 GG) vereinbar sind.

Voraussetzungen

Angegriffen werden können deutsche Hoheitsakte aller drei staatlichen Gewalten, d.h. Rechtsprechung, Verwaltung und Gesetzgebung (zum Sonderfall der Rechtssatzverfassungsbeschwerde vgl. hier). Entscheidend ist, ob die angegriffenen Hoheitsakte aufgrund verfassungsmäßiger Gesetze ergangen und ob die Grundrechte bei Anwendung dieser Gesetze beachtet worden sind. Fehler bei der Rechtsanwendung, die keinen spezifischen Bezug zu den Grundrechten haben, führen daher nicht zum Erfolg der Verfassungsbeschwerde.

Die beschwerdeführende Person muss selbst, gegenwärtig und unmittelbar in ihren Rechten betroffen sein.

Ein Anwaltszwang besteht nicht. Die beschwerdeführende Person kann sich rechtlich vertreten lassen; im Falle einer mündlichen Verhandlung muss sie sich vertreten lassen.

Die Verfassungsbeschwerde unterliegt strengen Anforderungen an die Begründung. Sie muss schriftlich eingereicht werden. Die Einreichung per Telefax ist zulässig, nicht aber per E-Mail).

Gegen Entscheidungen der Gerichte und Behörden ist die Verfassungsbeschwerde nur binnen eines Monats zulässig. Innerhalb dieser Frist muss auch die vollständige Begründung einschließlich aller erforderlichen Unterlagen eingereicht werden.

Die Verfassungsbeschwerde ist grundsätzlich erst dann zulässig, wenn zuvor der fachgerichtliche Rechtsweg vollständig durchschritten wurde (sog. Rechtswegerschöpfung). Darüber hinaus müssen alle zur Verfügung stehenden weiteren Möglichkeiten ergriffen worden sein, um eine Korrektur der geltend gemachten Verfassungsverletzung zu erreichen oder zu verhindern (sog. Subsidiarität der Verfassungsbeschwerde). Aus diesen Grundsätzen folgt insbesondere, dass im Regelfall alle verfügbaren fachgerichtlichen Rechtsbehelfe (z.B. Berufung, Revision, sofortige Beschwerde, Rechtsbeschwerde, Nichtzulassungsbeschwerde) vor Erhebung der Verfassungsbeschwerde erfolglos genutzt worden sein müssen. Wird die Nichtgewährung rechtlichen Gehörs (Art. 103 Abs. 1 GG) gerügt, gehört hierzu auch die erfolglose Erhebung einer Anhörungsrüge bei dem zuständigen Fachgericht.

Das Verfahren ist kostenfrei. Die Gewährung von Prozesskostenhilfe für die Anwaltskosten kommt nur dann in Betracht, wenn die beschwerdeführende Person gehindert ist, ihre Rechte selbst ohne anwaltliche Hilfe angemessen wahrzunehmen, es ihr unmöglich sein wird, die Kosten der Prozessführung bei Beauftragung eines Anwalts aufzubringen und die Verfassungsbeschwerde Aussicht auf Erfolg hat.

Verfahren und Entscheidung

Eine Verfassungsbeschwerde bedarf der Annahme zur Entscheidung. Dies bedeutet allerdings kein freies Ermessen. Die Verfassungsbeschwerde muss vom Bundesverfassungsgericht angenommen werden, wenn sie grundsätzliche verfassungsrechtliche Bedeutung hat oder wenn dies zur Durchsetzung eigener verfassungsmäßiger Rechte des Beschwerdeführers oder der Beschwerdeführerin angezeigt ist. Daher geht auch jeder Nichtannahmeentscheidung eine intensive Rechtsprüfung voraus.

Das Bundesverfassungsgericht kann die Verfassungswidrigkeit eines Aktes der öffentlichen Gewalt feststellen, eine verfassungswidrige Entscheidung aufheben und die Sache an ein zuständiges Gericht zurückverweisen sowie ein Gesetz für nichtig erklären. Etwaige Folgeentscheidungen sind den Fachgerichten vorbehalten; das Bundesverfassungsgericht spricht beispielsweise keinen Schadensersatz zu und trifft auch keine Maßnahmen der Strafverfolgung.

Sonderfall Rechtssatzverfassungsbeschwerde

Mit der sogenannten Rechtssatzverfassungsbeschwerde können ausnahmsweise auch Gesetze, Rechtsverordnungen oder Satzungen unmittelbar angegriffen werden. In der Regel bedürfen Rechtsvorschriften jedoch des Vollzuges durch eine behördliche oder gerichtliche Entscheidung, gegen die die betroffene Person zunächst den Rechtsweg vor den zuständigen Gerichten erschöpfen muss. In aller Regel ist die Verfassungsbeschwerde in solchen Fällen daher erst nach der Entscheidung des letztinstanzlichen Gerichts zulässig.

Die Rechtsnorm muss die beschwerdeführende Person selbst, gegenwärtig und unmittelbar beschweren. Eine eigene und gegenwärtige Betroffenheit liegt regelmäßig vor, wenn die beschwerdeführende Person durch die Rechtsnorm mit einiger Wahrscheinlichkeit in ihren Grundrechten berührt wird. Unmittelbar ist die Rechtsbeeinträchtigung, wenn kein Vollzugsakt notwendig ist.

In Ausnahmefällen kann sich die Verfassungsbeschwerde unmittelbar gegen eine Rechtsnorm richten, die noch vollzogen werden muss, z.B. wenn ein Rechtsweg nicht existiert oder wenn das Durchschreiten des Rechtsweges unzumutbar wäre. Im Straf- oder Ordnungswidrigkeitenrecht ist dies regelmäßig der Fall, denn es kann von keiner Person verlangt werden, zunächst eine Straftat oder Ordnungswidrigkeit zu begehen, um die Verfassungswidrigkeit der Norm im fachgerichtlichen Verfahren geltend machen zu können.

Sonderfall Kommunalverfassungsbeschwerde

Das Bundesverfassungsgericht entscheidet auch über Verfassungsbeschwerden von Gemeinden und Gemeindeverbänden wegen Verletzung des Rechts auf Selbstverwaltung durch ein Gesetz.

Die Kommunalverfassungsbeschwerde ist eine Besonderheit, weil Gemeinden und Gemeindeverbände selbst Träger öffentlicher Gewalt und daher grundsätzlich an die Grundrechte gebunden, nicht aber grundrechtsberechtigt sind. Allerdings haben sie ein Recht auf Selbstverwaltung (Art. 28 Abs. 2 GG) und stehen dem Staat insoweit in ähnlicher Lage gegenüber wie der grundrechtsberechtigte Bürger. Diesem Rechtsschutzbedürfnis trägt die Kommunalverfassungsbeschwerde Rechnung.

Beispiel: Eigenständige Gemeinden wehren sich gegen eine Rechtsverordnung des Landes, mit der sie zwangsweise Verwaltungsgemeinschaften zugeordnet werden.

Für die Kommunalverfassungsbeschwerde gelten jedoch einige Besonderheiten (vgl. § 91 Bundesverfassungsgerichtsgesetz): Gemeinden und Gemeindeverbände können nicht die Verletzung von Grundrechten oder grundrechtsgleichen Rechten rügen, sondern allein eine Verletzung ihres Selbstverwaltungsrechts (Art. 28 Abs. 2 GG) durch eine Rechtsnorm. Die Kommunalverfassungsbeschwerde ist ausgeschlossen, soweit eine ähnliche Beschwerde beim Verfassungsgericht des jeweiligen Landes erhoben werden kann. Damit kommt dem Bundesverfassungsgericht lediglich eine „Reservezuständigkeit“ für den Schutz der Garantie der kommunalen Selbstverwaltung zu.