Bundesverfassungsgericht

You are here:

Effect of Decisions

Decisions of the Federal Constitutional Court shall be binding upon the constitutional organs of the Federation and of the Laender, as well as on all courts and those with public authority (cf. § 31 (1) of the Federal Constitutional Court Act). Generally, the binding effect relates to the matter decided in a particular case.

Certain decisions of the Federal Constitutional Court, in particular concerning the constitutionality of a legal provision, have the force of law (§ 31 (2) of the Federal Constitutional Court Act); they therefore apply beyond the individual case. They are published in the Federal Law Gazette (Bundesgesetzblatt).

Generally, the Federal Constitutional Court declares an unconstitutional law to be void. Voidness also applies retroactively, and, in terms of law, results in a situation as if the law had never been enacted. In certain cases, the Federal Constitutional Court merely declares a provision to be incompatible with the Basic Law and lays down a date from when on it may no longer be applied. This is done in particular if the legislature has several possibilities to eliminate the violation of the Constitution, or if the law immediately ceasing to be in force carries greater disadvantages than the disadvantages of it remaining in force for a limited period of time. This is often the case with tax laws, because the legal basis for levying a tax would be completely or partially abolished. In the transitional period, the legislature can enact a constitutional provision. In rare cases, the Federal Constitutional Court itself lays down transitional provisions.

Beyond the particular proceedings, the voidness of a legal provision voids all other decisions taken on its basis (cf. § 79 (2) of the Federal Constitutional Court Act). Decisions which can no longer be challenged remain effective but may no longer be executed. A further-reaching rule applies to criminal proceedings because of their drastic effects: if a criminal judgment is based on a legal provision that is void or incompatible with the Basic Law, the proceedings can be reopened even if the judgment has become final.

Bundesverfassungsgericht

Sie sind hier:

Wirkung der Entscheidungen

Entscheidungen des Bundesverfassungsgerichts binden die Verfassungsorgane des Bundes und der Länder sowie alle Gerichte und Behörden (vgl. § 31 Abs. 1 Bundesverfassungsgerichtsgesetz). Diese Bindung bezieht sich im Regelfall auf den konkret entschiedenen Sachverhalt.

Bestimmte Entscheidungen des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, insbesondere über die Verfassungsmäßigkeit einer Rechtsnorm, haben Gesetzeskraft (§ 31 Abs. 2 Bundesverfassungsgerichtsgesetz) und gelten daher über den Einzelfall hinaus. Sie werden im Bundesgesetzblatt veröffentlicht.

Ein verfassungswidriges Gesetz erklärt das Bundesverfassungsgericht im Regelfall für nichtig. Die Nichtigkeit wirkt auch in die Vergangenheit und führt rechtlich gesehen zu einem Zustand, als ob das Gesetz niemals erlassen worden wäre. In bestimmten Fällen erklärt das Bundesverfassungsgericht eine Rechtsnorm lediglich für unvereinbar mit dem Grundgesetz und legt fest, ab wann sie nicht mehr angewendet werden darf. Dies geschieht insbesondere dann, wenn der Gesetzgeber verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Beseitigung des Verfassungsverstoßes hat oder wenn die Nachteile des sofortigen Außerkrafttretens der Rechtsnorm größer sind als die Nachteile einer übergangsweisen Weitergeltung. Letzteres ist häufig bei Steuergesetzen der Fall, weil die Rechtsgrundlage für die Steuererhebung sonst ganz oder teilweise wegfiele. In der Übergangszeit kann der Gesetzgeber eine verfassungsgemäße Norm erlassen. In seltenen Fällen legt das Bundesverfassungsgericht selbst Übergangsbestimmungen fest.

Über das konkrete Verfahren hinaus führt die Nichtigkeit einer Rechtsnorm nicht dazu, dass alle anderen auf ihrer Grundlage ergangenen Entscheidungen ungültig werden (vgl. § 79 Abs. 2 Bundesverfassungsgerichtsgesetz). Nicht mehr anfechtbare Entscheidungen bleiben wirksam, können aber nicht mehr vollstreckt werden. Eine weitergehende Regelung gilt für das Strafverfahren wegen seiner einschneidenden Wirkungen: Wenn ein Strafurteil auf einer nichtigen oder mit dem Grundgesetz für unvereinbaren Rechtsnorm beruht, kann das Verfahren auch nach seinem rechtskräftigen Abschluss wieder aufgenommen werden.